How Silence Give Power to Violence

Stop Violence

Stop Violence

 

First they came for the Ahmadiyah, and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t an Ahmadiyah.

Then they came for the Shia, and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a shia.

Then they came for the Atheists, and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t an Atheist.

Then they came for me and there was no one left to speak out for me.

- Difa Kusumadewi,  talking about how silence give power to violence. Inspired by Pastor Martin Niemöller

 

 

First they came for the communists,
and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a communist.

Then they came for the trade unionists,
and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Jews,
and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a Jew.

Then they came for me
and there was no one left to speak out for me.

– Pastor Martin Niemöller, talking about how silence give power to the Nazis.

